|Continuing Education (CE) Tips for Brokers:
As a licensed health insurance broker in California, you are required to earn a total of 24 hours of Continuing Education (CE) Credits every two years to maintain your insurance producer license. In Nevada, the requirement is a minimum of 30 hours of CE Credits, including three hours of ethics, every three years. Course hours correspond to the available CE Credits, so a two-hour course generally offers two credits.
So, you may be wondering, how and where can you earn your CE Credits?
There are many options for brokers when it comes to earning the required credits required by insurance regulators. Some CE courses are available for free, such as those offered by Word & Brown and health underwriter associations. (You can find upcoming course information on our website or on your local and state underwriter group sites.
Courses are also available through commercial education providers, such as those that offer pre-license training and education as well as online only providers like WebCE.
- A.D. Banker & Company I https://www.adbanker.com/continuingEducation.aspx I 800.866.2468
- Kaplan Financial I https://www.kaplanfinancial.com/insurance-continuing-education/ I 877.731.5061
- WebCE I https://www.webce.com/ I 877.488.9308
If you are a California or Nevada producer, you can use Sircon to look up other course vendors and courses.
CE Course Selection
When selecting CE Courses – whether online or in-person, free or for a fee – keep in mind that state authorities will only credit you with training hours for approved courses related to your license. If you have a renewing life and health insurance license, you are unlikely to get credit for a property and casualty-related course.
It is advisable to earn your credits at least 60 days prior to your license expiration, so there is sufficient time for your education provider to submit the necessary information to the state to update your records. If you earn hours near the end of your license term, your renewal could be delayed while your CE hours are processed.
If you have taken a class and want to check to see if you have been credited for your course hours, you can visit the California Department of Insurance (DOI) website to check:
In Nevada, similar information can be found at https://www.sircon.com/ComplianceExpress/NonSscrbEducation/index.jsp?1=0&lid=lp_nevada2&sc=xyopwtla&sscrbid=9020&path=nevada.
Please keep in mind, you cannot receive partial credit for coursework you did not fully complete. If you leave a class before its end (or you exit and online course in progress), no CE Credit applies.
CE Requirements by State
For answers to frequently asked California broker questions about CE Credits, visit the DOI website. Nevada resident CE requirement information can be found on the Nevada Division of Insurance website.
For additional guidance, check out our Continuing Education Tips in the accompanying box above or use these helpful links:
Health Insurance Broker
2020 Salary Guide
For a sneak peek at what you can expect to earn as an insurance agent, get a copy of our “Insurance Broker Salary Guide.”