Posted: July 27, 2021 by Staff Writer
The shutdown of the economy and cessation of most in-person training events targeting health insurance brokers in response to COVID-19 has prompted many to look online for Continuing Education (CE) Credits, which are required for insurance license renewal.
Both California and Nevada allow agents/producers to earn CE Credits online, as long as the courses taken are applicable to the type of insurance license held by the broker.
There are many online courses available across a broad range of topics, including but not limited to:
- Anti-Money Laundering
- Client Service
- Commercial Lines
- Employee Benefits
- Financial Planning
- Group Life Insurance
- Health Insurance
- Health Reimbursement Arrangements (QSEHRAs, ICHRAs, and EBHRAs)
- Health Savings Accounts
- HSAs, FSAs, HDHPs, and QSEHRAs
- Insurance Fraud
- Life Insurance
- Life & Health Insurance Law
- Life and Health Insurance Essentials
- Long Term Care
- Medicare & Senior Health
- Personal Lines
- Property-Casualty Basics
- Producer Practices, Including Cybersecurity
- Retirement Planning
- Senior Needs Planning
- Tax Updates
Kaplan Financial Education offers what it calls “Total Access CE,” which gives users access to a choice of courses over 365 days:
- All Lines Total Access: 80+ courses, $59.00
- Life & Health Total Access: 45+ courses, $39.00
- Property & Casualty Total Access, $39.00
WebCE allows brokers in California to build your own 30-hour CE or CPE (Continuing Professional Education) package for less than $45.00. In Nevada, a 24-hour CE/CPE package is available for $39.95. Each added hour over 30 is $0.75. A mandatory filing fee of $1.00 per CE hour also applies.
Word & Brown also annually hosts its Week of Webinars (WOW), which offers up to half of the CE Credit required in California for license renewal. The 2020 WOW just concluded in June. While you cannot earn CE Credit for listening to the recorded WOW 2020 presentations, you may find the information useful – just link here. ADD LINK FOR WOW RECORDINGS, ONCE AVAILABLE
Watch next year for information on our 2021 WOW schedule of courses, and be sure to check our website for information on events and webinars where you can earn CE Credits. Our company presenters also frequently take part in state and regional health underwriter association events, which often offer CE Credits.
If you are unsure of what CE Credits you need for your license renewal, or you want to look up courses available or previously taken, you can do so by clicking on the links below:
- California licensees can review license information here.
- Nevada licensees can use Sircon to look up courses or a completed course.
New California Requirement
Don’t forget, if you’re selling in California, one important change for 2020 you need to be aware of is the new state individual mandate, which requires all Californians to have Minimum Essential Coverage (MEC) for all months of 2020.
California residents who do not have adequate coverage are subject to non-compliance penalties of $695 per adult plus $347.50 for underage dependents – up to 2.5% of a person’s taxable household income.
For more information about the California mandate, and how it affects brokers, read the column by Word & Brown Director of Education and Market Development Paul Roberts available here.
If you have questions about licensing and Continuing Education in California, call the California Department of Insurance at (800) 967-9331 or go visit the DOI website. For information on Nevada, visit the Division of Insurance website or call (888) 872-3234, (775) 687-0700 in Carson City, or (702) 486-4009 in Las Vegas.
Posted: August 25, 2021 | Industry News
Posted: July 27, 2021 | Technology
Posted: June 29, 2021 | Compliance
Posted: June 28, 2021 | Technology
Posted: June 27, 2021 | Compliance