As a licensed health insurance broker in virtually any state – including California and Nevada – you are required to earn Continuing Education (CE) Credits to maintain your insurance license. California requires Accident and Health licensees to complete a total of 24 hours of CE for every two-year license term. In Nevada, individuals must complete 30 hours of CE, including three hours of ethics, during each license term. Course hours correspond to available CE Credits, so a one-hour course generally offers one credit.
Where Can You Earn CE Credits?
There are many options when it comes to earning the credits required by insurance regulators. Some CE courses are available free, such as those offered by Word & Brown and health underwriter associations.
Courses are also available through commercial education providers, such as those that offer pre-license training and education as well as online only providers like WebCE.
- D. Banker & Company I Website I 800.866.2468
- Kaplan Financial I Website I 731.5061
- WebCE I Website I 488.9308
If you are a California or Nevada producer, you can use Sircon to look up other training vendors and courses.
Week of Webinars
If you’re a California broker, you can earn up to 13 CE Credits in one week during Word & Brown’s annual Week of Webinars. The 2021 program is coming up June 14-18. (Unfortunately, due to state regulations, Nevada brokers are ineligible for CE Credits through Week of Webinars.) Link here to view course details and to register.
CE Course Selection
When considering your CE Courses – whether online or in-person, free or for a fee – keep in mind that state authorities will only credit you with training hours for courses related to your license. If you have a renewing life and health insurance license, you are unlikely to get credit for a property and casualty-related course.
CE Tips for Brokers
Timing Is Important
It is advisable to earn your credits at least 60 days prior to your license expiration; that will ensure your education provider has sufficient time to submit the necessary information to the state to update your records. If you earn hours near the end of your license term, your renewal could be delayed while your CE Credits are processed.
You can look up your credits with the California Department of Insurance and Nevada Division of Insurance by following the links below:
- California: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0008-check-license-status/index.cfm
- Nevada: https://www.sircon.com/ComplianceExpress/NonSscrbEducation/index.jsp?1=0&lid=lp_nevada2&sc=xyopwtla&sscrbid=9020&path=nevada.
Don’t forget, you cannot receive partial credit for coursework you did not fully complete. If you leave a class before its end (or you exit an online course in progress), no CE Credit applies.
Health Insurance Broker
2020 Salary Guide
For a sneak peek at what you can expect to earn as an insurance agent, get a copy of our “Insurance Broker Salary Guide.”